A committee led by boxing legend M C Mary Kom will run the Wrestling Federation of India (WFI).

The panel will also probe the allegations of “sexual misconduct, harassment and/intimidation, financial irregularities and administrative lapses” levelled by prominent sportspersons against the federation chief, other officials and coaches, the Sports Ministry said on Monday.

The other members of the committee are London Olympics bronze medallist Yogeshwar Dutt, former badminton player Trupti Murgunde, a member of SAI’s Mission Olympic cell, and former SAI administrators Radhica Sreeman, and Cdr Rajesh Rajagopalan.

The oversight committee will complete the enquiry within 4 weeks, the ministry added.

The Sports Ministry said that it has instructed the executive committee of WFI to abstain from managing the day-to-day activities of the federation, with immediate effect, until further communication.

The Ministry’s action comes after Olympic medallists Bajrang Punia, Sakshi Malik, Ravi Dahiya along with world championship-medallists Vinesh Phogat and Deepak Punia led an unprecedented three-day protest at the Jantar Mantar, demanding the immediate resignation of WFI chief Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh and dissolution of the federation.

The wrestlers called off their protest on Saturday after getting assurances from Sports Minister Anurag Thakur that there will be a thorough investigation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *