The Indian Bowlers were in Red-Hot form as they took the field in Raipur on 21st January 2023. Mohammed Shami and Siraj went on a rampage and completely decimated the New Zealand batting line up. At one point of time, the Kiwis were at a shameful score of 15-5 before the lower order got some respectability to the score. The visitors could manage to put 108 on the board in 34.3 overs with only Bracewell, Santner and Philips entering double figures. Each of the Indian Bowlers who bowled had a wicket to their name with Shami claiming three Kiwi Scalps. The Indians chased down this target in less than 21 overs with Rohit Sharma making his 48th half century at almost a run a ball. With this win, the Indians have won the 3 Match ODI Series with a game to go!

The Indian chase did not see much hiccups as the target was too small for the famed Indian batting lineup. The Kiwis were however successful in sending back Rohit Sharma for 51 and Virat Kohli for a mere 11 runs. The two young batters Shubhman Gill and Ishan Kishan took the Indians across the line without much ado.

Hardik Pandya’s Excellent Return Catch

Hardik Pandya seemed back to his fit self when he took a fabulous catch of his own bowling. The reaction time was 0.5 seconds. It shows excellent reflexes of the Indian All Rounder who was very pumped after taking the catch. He eventually ended up in taking two Kiwi Wickets in the match.

Player of the Match – Mohammed Shami

Gamechanger of the Match – Hardik Pandya

Strongest Performer of the Match – Rohit Sharma (For Hitting the Longest Six – 84 mtrs)

Power player Award – Mohammed Shami

Toss – India Won the Toss and after much contemplation, they Choose to Bowl!

Players to Watch For – Fin Allen and Surya Kumar Yadav

Match Time: India vs New Zealand, January 21, 1:30 PM local time

Venue: Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur.

Pitch Report: A packed crowd of 64,500 is in Raipur for the First ODI here despite an official capacity of 50,000. Raipur is also in the race to host Women’s IPL matches in March. Mitchell Santner inspected the pitch and said it has more bounce than Hyderabad. However, no one else knows how the pitch will behave. Dew will play a role in the latter half. No rain is expected.

India Team: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Ishan Kishan (wk), 5 Suryakumar Yadav, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Washington Sundar, 8 Shardul Thakur, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Mohammed Shami 11 Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand Team: 1 Finn Allen, 2 Devon Conway, 3 Henry Nicholls, 4 Daryl Mitchell, 5 Tom Latham (capt & wk), 6 Glenn Phillips, 7 Michael Bracewell, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Henry Shipley, 10 Tickner, 11 Lockie Ferguson

ODI Record – Last Five Matches

India – WWWWW (most recent first)

New Zealand – LWWLW

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *