It was Super Sunday and my current favourite SRH clashed against my previous favourite RR in the first game of the double header! The last time Sunrisers Hyderabad played a game at their home surface was in April 2019. Since then, the team has seen a complete overhaul. The Royals are a well-balanced team. Led by Sanju Samson, and have a reputation for being a gritty side, who do not give up easily. However, SRH Vs RR IPL Match did not live up to its promise of being a close match, with SRH batters making a mess of chasing 203.

Rajasthan Royals Innings Summary

Rajasthan Royals started at a breakneck speed. In four overs, they hit five fours, three sixes and also ran two threes on this big Hyderabad ground. Jaiswal appears to be the man who was given a free ticket to hit out. Jos Buttler played the ball to its merit and belted SRH bowlers to all parts of the ground. Fazalhaq Farooqi went for 14, Washington Sundar for 19 to start proceedings. T Natarajan, who has an extremely promising strike-rate of 11 in the powerplay, conceded four boundaries in five balls. 

Rajasthan Royals made their highest Powerplay score in IPL (86/1), bettering their 81/1 vs CSK in Abu Dhabi in 2021. Butler made a 20 ball 50 to give a firing start to their IPL 2023 campaign. But Farooqi finally got the hosts a much-needed breakthrough. Buttler got an inside edge onto the top of his off stump. There was a huge sigh of relief from the crowd as they saw the back of one of the most destructive batters in the world.

Jaiswal Leaves No Stone Unturned

It was Jaiswal’s new-ball assault that deflated Sunrisers early. And even though he slowed down after racing to 30 in 13 balls, he finished his innings with a more-than-respectable 54 in 36 balls. He was moving around his crease to get outside the ball’s line and hit the pacer over extra cover. His demise was his desire to keep hitting. Farooqi was expensive but he now had a second – something for the home fans to rejoice over.

Samson was cruising at a near 200-strike rate, very nonchalantly breaching the 50-run mark without making much noise. With the Top Three RR batters crossing the half – century mark, it was no surprise that Rajasthan reached 203 in their quota of 20 overs.

IPL Team Squads Detail – Cricket Maiden

SRH Innings Summary –

Trent Boult has arrived and how! First over, 203 on the board by his team and he comes in and has Bowled the opener! Lovely out swinging yorker and Abhishek Sharma has no answers. He tried to stay leg-side and dig it out, but the ball swung and uprooted the off stump. And Boult was not over yet. He came in a ball later and got rid of Rahul Tripathi, who was caught brilliantly at slip by Jason Holder. SRH have lost two wickets without even opening their account. Rahul Tripathi reviews thinking it’s a bump ball, but he couldn’t be more wrong!

Harry Brook Fails to Make an Impression

It was a tough debut outing for Harry Brook in the IPL. He came in at 0 for 2 after five balls, in the first over, chasing 204. Brook struggled to get going and was bowled trying to cut a ball from Yuzi Chahal. He departed for a mere 13 off 21 balls.

Countering spin will be Harry Brook’s biggest challenge this season. He has been stronger against pace (average 37, SR 161) than against spin (average 28, SR 128) in his T20 career till date. If Brook stays at No. 4, he will face a lot of high-quality spin throughout the tournament.

The rest of SRH batters did not make any useful contributions and the entire team had to face a disgraceful defeat at the hands of Rajasthan Royals.

SRH vs RR IPL Match Preview –

Rajasthan have a strong spin-bowling department, with Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Adam Zampa in the side. The Royals’ batting line-up, led by Jos Buttler, is also formidable, with Shimron Hetmyer and Jason Holder in the mix.

While four years is a long time, the SRH squad bears a different look even when compared to IPL 2022. Major changes have been made with more than 10 players replaced from the last time they played. Players with a big price tag against their name have been left out and replaced with some in-form players. These could potentially turn the franchise’s fortunes around. Markram’s stature has risen big time after been named skipper. He will hope for a repeat result from the inaugural SA20 where he led Sunrisers to the title.

Players to Watch: Harry Brook, Umran Malik (SRH); Sanju Samson, Jos Butler (RR)

Harry Brook in the House

Since January 2022, Harry Brook has been at the top of his game. He has made his debut for England in all three formats; won the T20 World Cup and was then picked up in the IPL for the very first time for a stunning sum of INR 13.25 Cr. The 24-year-old English lad has been striking at close to 100 so far in his short Test career. He will be seen to deliver as a finisher for SRH.

Jos Butler’s Smacking Form

Jos Buttler smashed 863 runs in 17 matches at an average of 57.53 and strike rate of 149.05, slamming four fifties and ton each in 2022. But he needs the help of RR’s top order to ensure they sail smoothly this year. The likes of Devdutt Padikkal, Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shimron Hetmyer will need to contribute with the bat. 

SRH Vs RR IPL Match – Injuries and Availability:

SRH’s South African trio – Markram, Klaasen and Marco Jansen will miss the first game due to national duties.

Weather Update – SRH Vs RR IPL Match

Good news for cricket fans is that the chances of rain in Hyderabad are zero as per the weather report. The temperature is going to be between 32 – 35 degrees C.

Health and Fitness Tips for Women – Gust Chimes

SRH Squad: Aiden Markram (C), Mayank Agarwal, Abdul Samad, Anmolpreet Singh, Harry Brook, Nitish Reddy, Rahul Tripathi. Samarth Vyas, Sanvir Singh, Vivrant Sharma, Washington Sundar, Abhishek Sharma, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen. Glenn Phillips, Upendra Yadav, Akeal Hosein, Mayank Dagar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Kartik Tyagi. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Markande, T Natarajan, Adil Rashid, Umran Malik.

Rajasthan Royals Squad: Sanju Samson (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Jos Buttler, Dhruv Jurel, Riyan Parag. Prasidh Krishna. Trent Boult, Obed McCoy, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Sen, Kuldip Yadav. R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, KC Cariappa. Jason Holder, Donavon Ferreira, Kunal Rathore, Adam Zampa. KM Asif, M Ashwin, Akash Vashisht, Abdul PA, Joe Root.

Please Like, Share, Comment on ‘SRH Vs RR IPL Match’ below.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *