The Sri Lanka Cricket team, also known as the Lankan Lions, made its international debut in 1975. Since then, it has established itself as a competitive side in international cricket. Some of the notable achievements of the Sri Lankan cricket team include winning the 1996 Cricket World Cup, reaching the final of the 2007 Cricket World Cup, winning the 2014 T20 World Cup, and winning the 2014 Asia Cup. Sri Lanka has produced many talented cricketers, including Muttiah Muralitharan, who is widely considered one of the greatest bowlers in the history of the game.

SLC – Sri Lanka Cricket Board

The Sri Lankan cricket team is managed by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), which is the governing body responsible for the administration of cricket in Sri Lanka. SLC was established in 1975 and is responsible for organising, promoting, and developing cricket in the country, as well as selecting and managing the Sri Lankan national cricket team. SLC is headquartered in Colombo and is affiliated with the International Cricket Council (ICC), the governing body of international cricket.

Star Players in Sri Lankan Cricket History

Some of the star players in Sri Lankan cricket history are:

Kumara Sangakkara (Wicket-keeper Batsman) –

Kumara Sangakkara is the second-highest run-scorer in ODI behind Sachin Tendulkar having played 9 years less than what Sachin has. He is the most talented cricketer on the Sri Lankan Cricket Team. Sangakara has scored 28000 international runs. He was a key figure in helping Sri Lanka reach the finals of the 2011 and 2015 World Cup.

Muttiah Muralitharan (Spinner) –

Muttiah Muralitharan is known as the greatest and most successful bowler to grace cricket. He has 1,334 international wickets to his name. Muralitharan registered his 800th wicket on the final ball of his career.

Lasith Malinga (Fast Bowler) –

Known as the master of death overs, Lasith Malinga is the leading wicket-taker in IPL. He also has taken 546 International wickets. He was an unorthodox fast bowler with an unusual action in international cricket history.

Arjuna Ranatunga (Batsman) –

Regarded as a pioneer of the Sri Lankan team, Arjun Ranatunga scored over 12,000 runs in international cricket.

Chaminda Vaas (Fast Bowler) –

Chaminda Vaas is known as the greatest fast bowler of the Sri Lankan cricket team. With perfect line and length and late swings, he is the 4th highest wicket-taker in the ODIs. He has the famous first 3 ball hattrick against Bangladesh in the 2003 World Cup. Chamida Vaas also holds the record for best bowling figures in ODI with 8/19 against Zimbabwe.

Angelo Mathews (All-rounder) –

Angelo Mathews has scored over 13,000 International runs. He also has 191 wickets to his name in all formats. He won the Sri Lankan Cricketer of the Year in 2015.

Indian Cricket Team – Cricket Maiden

ICC Tournament and Major Series Won by Sri Lankan Cricket Team

The Sri Lankan cricket team has won the 1996 Cricket World Cup, the 2014 ICC World Twenty20 and the 2002 ICC Champions Trophy.

Sri Lankan Women’s Cricket Team

The Sri Lankan women’s cricket team represents Sri Lanka in international women’s cricket. The team made its international debut in 1997. It has since competed in multiple ICC events – Women’s World Cup, the World Twenty20 and the Asian Games. Some of the notable players from the Sri Lankan women’s cricket team include Chamari Athapaththu, Shashikala Siriwardene and Eshani Lokusuriyage. The team has experienced some success, including winning the Women’s Twenty20 Asia Cup in 2016. Despite these challenges, the team continues to work towards becoming a competitive force in the world of women’s cricket.

Health and Fitness Tips for Women – Gust Chimes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *